A criminal charge can affect your family, your career, your finances and your future. If you are a student at a college or university, you could be suspended or expelled. It is critical that you hire an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as you are arrested or learn that you have been accused of a crime.
Hiring the right attorney is critical to the outcome of your case. You want a lawyer who is experienced and knowledgeable about criminal law. You want a lawyer who is skilled in the courtroom and willing to go to trial on your case. Two of our attorneys are former prosecutors who have tried everything from speeding tickets to murders. Our attorneys have over 60 years combined experience in the courtroom.Felonies
The Texas Penal Code classifies felonies into five categories according to the seriousness of the crime. TPC § 12.04
The range of punishment for a state jail felony in Texas is 180 days to two years in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice and a fine up to $10,000. TPC § 12.35
Third degree felonies are punishable from two to ten years in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice and a fine up to $10,000. TPC § 12.34
The range of punishment for a second degree felony is two to twenty years in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice and a fine up to $10,000. TPC § 12.33
First degree felonies are punishable by imprisonment in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice for life or for a term not more than 99 years and not less than 5 years. A fine of up to $10,000 may also be assessed. TPC § 12.32
Capital Felonies are punished by imprisonment in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice for life without the possibility of parole or death. TPC § 12.31Misdemeanors
In Texas, misdemeanors are classified into three categories according to the seriousness of the offense. TPC § 12.03
Class C misdemeanors are punishable by a fine not to exceed $500. TPC § 12.23
Individuals who are convicted of a Class B misdemeanor face confinement in the county jail not to exceed 180 days and/or a fine up to $2,000. TPC § 12.22
Class A misdemeanors are punishable by confinement in the county jail of a period not to exceed one year and/or a fine of up to $4,000. TPC § 12.21Drug Charges
The attorneys at Huntsville Law Group have years of experience handling many types of drug charges, including:
- Possession of Marijuana
- Possession of a Dangerous Drug
- Possession of a Controlled Substance
- Possession of a Controlled Substance in Drug-Free Zone
- Manufacture & Delivery of a Controlled Substance
- Possession with Intent to Deliver
- Possession of Drugs without Prescription (Xanax, Oxycontin, Vicodin, Hydrocodone, Adderall).
The penalties for drug charges depend on the quantity and type of drug. In Texas, controlled substances are divided into categories called penalty groups. Each penalty group has different penalties.Assault / Aggravated Assault / Family Violence / Domestic Violence
In Texas, a person commits an assault if the person intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causes bodily injury to another person. Texas Penal Code § 22.01 The penalties for assault range from misdemeanors to felonies, depending on who was assaulted, the severity of injuries and whether a weapon was used to commit the assault.
In addition to facing jail time and expensive fines, a criminal conviction can affect your career and can prevent you from owning a gun.
CALL THE EXPERIENCED CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYERS AT HUNTSVILLE LAW GROUP AT (936) 649-1051!